Chris Knapp is Chair of Architecture at Western Sydney University, taking up the position of Professor in September 2017. He is also a director of Studio Workshop.

Formerly the director of BEP, Chris Knapp is a building designer who holds a Bachelor of Science in Architecture from the University of Michigan and Master of Architecture from Princeton University, where he studied with Michael Graves, Mark Wigley, Nasrine Seraji, Peter Eisenman, Wes Jones, and Preston Scott Cohen. From 2001-2004, Chris was Lecturer in Architecture at the University of Michigan, leading numerous courses in design, construction technology, digital fabrication research, freehand drawing, and sustainable practice, including leadership of the design and research phase of the college's 2005 entry to the United States Department of Energy Solar Decathlon competition.  He held a residential building license in Michigan and was a planning commissioner for the city of Ypsilanti, Michigan from 2002-2004.  He has practised on Australia's east coast in the Byron Bay area since the beginning of 2005.

Chris Knapp is formerly an Assistant Professor of Architecture in Digital Design at the Bond University Abedian School of Architecture, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia.  Since joining Bond in the inaugural year of its program in January 2011 and ending his tenure there in late 2017. Chris has coordinated subjects in Design, Digital Communications, and Construction Technology. He currently coordinates the Master of Architecture Program and curates the School's public lecture series. In 2014, he served as acting Head of the Architecture School.

In addition to practicing and teaching, Chris Knapp is pursuing his PhD in the invited practice-based research stream at the RMIT School of Architecture and Design under supervisor Paul Minifie. He also spends his time writing about architecture, with essays appearing in print and online in Architectural Review Asia Pacific, Architecture Australia, MARK Magazine, Futurespace Magazine, and ArchDaily. 

 photo: Dane Assmussen